What Does Sorrow Know About The Ways of the World

No one deserves a broken heart
O how I know I hate mine

But it’s what I do have
I prayed to God for a sign

It was clear He wasn’t listening
I did not know where to start

Would I just always be stuck with
This poor defenseless pathetic heart

I showed my heart to the Devil
He said “Now what would I want with this?”

He slammed it down onto the table
He screamed that it was useless

So I put my heart back inside me
I shivered as I felt it’s cold

I traveled the paths in the woods
As the lonely days made me grow old

Just me alone in the wilderness
Holding a useless heart in my depths

I walked the path of loneliness
Keeping a cold stone in my chest

Leave a Reply

