Oh The Joy Of The World Of Second Chances

I woke up out of the black
with a knife in my pocket
and a bottle in my hand
give me one more life
although i done used nine
so i can get it right this time

and the funeral will be blessed
and it will be cursed
demons and angels will attend
to fight for the scraps of my soul
when i heard God a callin’
I should a come a runnin’
and not ended up in this place

my momma done and told me
that sacrifice was the way
God even sacrficed his Son
so we could live eternally
but i couldnt do it, i wanted sin
i wish i could a do it over again

i took the bottle and put it to my lips
to let the liquid courage help me forget
that i was a broken
and i was a chokin
with all those troubles
oh God how i failed you again

there’s no more sleep
there’s no more love
when you feel a frozen from inside
i just need one more try
to prove to you Lord
I can get it right this time

oh just let me try
i dont wanna die alone again
i can get it right this time
oh i can get by
if you give me just one more try
so i can get it right this time

One Response to “Oh The Joy Of The World Of Second Chances”

  1. Joyce Moyer Hostetter Says:

    Thank GOODNESS for second chances.

Leave a Reply

