The Cleansing Hymn

I might notta’ been a bad man
But surely i wasn’t good enough
to have success turn it’s mighty head

It doesn’t matter which way I go

even loneliness has left me alone
just me and the circiling buzzards a’head

These are my confessions
this is my hymn
when my life has passed me by
i’ll leave a legacy of sin

I’ve done some bad deeds
I hated a man for disagreein’
I wished someone to Hell

I’ve done what i shouldn’t of
I’ve made a woman cry
I listened to demons more than i’d like to tell

Oh God hear my confessions
Listen to my hymn
when my life has passed me by
i’ll leave a legacy of sin

I can’t feel my warmth
i can’t feel my soul
not after all i’ve done

no matter how far i run
i can’t get away from it all
for i ain’t no prodigal son

4 Responses to “The Cleansing Hymn”

  1. Amy Says:

    This is excellent work!!! Love the last line especially!

  2. Joyce Moyer Hostetter Says:

    But the prodigal son went home to his Father. So maybe being a prodigal isn’t the worst thing in the world.

  3. Sophie Says:

    This is very sophisticated poetry, and I believe it represents an evolution over your earlier works. What a difference a year makes! The rhyming pattern is highly effective and rhythmic. Knowing you, I suspect these are song lyrics and they put me in mind of the black gospel genre. I can hear them set to old fashioned blues music. Though the first instinct is to view this poem in a depressive light, I feel your last verse introduces the reader to an element of hope, whether consciously intended or not. If you can’t run away from your sins, you will eventually be forced to deal with them, therefore, your legacy can change. Very good, Johnny. I look forward to reading more from you.

  4. ten4ruthie Says:

    I like this – especially “even loneliness has left me alone.” I’ll have to think about that one for awhile.

    The last line could have several different meanings…

Leave a Reply

