Too Bad We Didn’t Make it To The Finish Line Honey

I guess I wasn’t good enough for yo’ pretty eyes to behold
You didn’t feel you owed me nothing’ tho my heart you stole
You think you’re better than me, well that may be true
But baby, I could have been something to you.

You were a ten  I was probably a three on my best day
And it doesn’t even matter what you try to say
All your pretty words that come from your pretty lips
Match up quite nicely to your shaking hips

This ain’t funny, I’m done telling’ jokes
I want back from you what you stole
My heart, my soul, and the keys to my brain
I want ‘em all back just the same

I didn’t mean for us to reach this place
I mean, who could say no to such a pretty face
Owwwww I scream for you to take me witcha
You tell me to not let the door hit me where the good Lord splitcha

Is it my fault that I look this way
God has a funny sense of humor some say
Like when he put this one thing in my head
That you meant all those pretty words you said

That you cared for me, that we’d never be apart
Then you stepped on me and stabbed my heart
You see baby, you left me in quite a bind
I’d like to get a good nights sleep if ya don’t mind

Listen honey I’d blame ya if I could
You need some pretty boy to make ya look good
I’m all dressed up and at the thresh hold
Sayin’ yes to nothing but a lonely ghost

You can do better, I’m not good enough
Find some pretty boy and strut yo’ stuff
I don’t know how to love anymore, just how to hate
And baby, hatin’ you is all over my plate

Ohhhhh hatin’ you is all I know now
Ohhhhhh blamin’ you cause I’m so cold now
Who knew hatin’ you could feel so good?

Leave a Reply

