As the Waters Splash Around Me or Look At Me I’m Attempting to Swim

Why am I drowning when Jesus beckoned me?
Help me to walk on the water would you?
Instead of letting me thrash and kick in the stormy seas

I want to grab His hand but I can’t see it in these murky depths.
My eyes have filled up with water from the ocean
Hiding the growing tears in my eyes.

Just let me drown Jesus, don’t save me.
Let this furious blue swallow me whole
To never spit me out onto the earth again.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “As the Waters Splash Around Me or Look At Me I’m Attempting to Swim”

  1. pearlsfrompain Says:

    I can definitely relate to this…experiencing the opposites of seeking God so strongly and pushing him away with the same amount of fervor. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Amy Says:

    Very heartfelt words Johhny. I know this will speak to a lot of people. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

