Who Is Going To Help Me Save Myself?

I’ll never understand any woman I meet
I guess I’ll just have to admit defeat
What’s it mean when she says she loves me?
Do those words come out of her mouth easily
Does she say them to every man around
Has she told everyone in this dusty old town?

I met her back in two thousand and three
She came from a place I couldn’t see
I knew she would be the death of me
And that my heart would take a sting
But by then it was just too late
She had control of me and my fate.

She said she loved me and she’d never leave
Something that I wanted to believe
Her words were like honey on my soul
Without her I wouldn’t know where to go
She was like my trembling rose
Laying in the dust of an old dirt road

Oh momma she said she’d never leave
Those words I wanted to believe
But I can’t find her here no  more
She left and I don’t know what for
Who’s going to save me from myself
I’m the only person who I couldn’t help

She is like a flickering light
I’ll do what I can to keep her in my sights
I never knew what love was before
Until she couldn’t take no more
She turned around and walked out the door
I sobbed as I hit the floor

She must of found a good place to hide
All this time to me she had lied
Said we’d be together till the end of time
Through thick and thin and apocalyptic signs
I jumped to the phone when it did ring
On the other end I heard her sing

She said that she was sorry but she had to go
And that her love for me I’d never know
It didn’t matter what I said
I wasn’t worth the price on her head
The next words I heard I couldn’t stand
As she told me of her love for another man.

Oh momma she said she’d never leave
Oh how easily I was deceived.
I can’t find her around here anymore
She’s done and left me and I don’t know what for
I wish that I would of learned
So I could find out just what I had done

Five years later walking down the road
I saw a woman that I thought I know
I saw her and in her hand
Was the hand of another man
I turned my tail and walked the other way
To try to hide my grief and pain

I knew the bottle would be my best friend
And would be with me until the end
The bottle said it would never leave
It would be with me as long as I had the green
Just like a woman I suppose
Going where the money goes.

I drank and I drank until I was drunk
If I passed out it was just my luck
I knew that I didn’t want to feel
Going numb was my only deal
She took my money and she took my soul
She took my mind and left me alone

Oh momma she said she’d never leave
Those words I wanted to believe
I thought she was the only one for me
Oh how easily I was deceived
Now who’s going to save me from myself
I’m the only person who I couldn’t help.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Who Is Going To Help Me Save Myself?”

  1. Joyce Hostetter Says:

    Hmmmm – very sad – Watch that bottle – it’s even worse than a woman for longterm heartbreak! I need more time to reflect on this before giving literary feedback! (Like I know anything about song writing!)

  2. Chris Carone Says:

    Very much enjoyable in that “I can’t realate but see how I could if that’s what happened to me” sense. Very nice flow also. Has a good rhythm to it.

  3. Chris Carone Says:

    I really like this one.

Leave a Reply

