Letters To His Loved One

To my dearest,

I long to see you. These long days and nights without you are too much for me to bear. The locket I have with your face gracing it’s insides is what keeps me sane.

We are to move out at dawn. The general seems to be in good spirits. I have heard from the other soldiers that the grey coats are just down the field. I feel that we are of to great a number for them to do anything senseless. We would put them down like dogs. Still, I can’t help but to feel sorry for those poor guys. At any moment it could be I in their stead. They too have wives and families. I cannot sleep at night now having stared upon the faces of those breathing their last breaths. I have orphaned many children and widowed many wives I am afraid. I pray that God will not punish me for what I have done.

I must go now, for we are to pack up camp and march at dawn. I hope this letter reaches you. Give my love to my son and tell him that I shall return home soon.

Your love,

George

To my dearest,

This is the second letter in two days I have wrote you and I hope you get them. Your love for me keeps me warm at night. After what I have seen, I hope to be home soon.

I saw my comrades and friends die right in front of my eyes. One poor soul lunged at me, forcing me to plunge my bayonet into his chest. I will hear his screams of agony well after my death. I fear I have changed to much since this great unholy war between the states. I hope you will still recognize me when I return home, that you will still run to me and hold me just as you have before. I pray that my son will know who I am and not run from me.

Forgive me, for my spirits are low. The general has told me that he expects more fighting at first light, and that we were to be on the front lines. Pray for me dearest, for I long to be with you again.

Your love,

George

To: Mrs. George

From: Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States

I regret to inform you that your husband has died in the line of duty. Though I know that it will not bring you much comfort, he died valiantly charging into the enemy. I know this letter may not help you cope, but I felt the responsibility to write it. My conscience no longer allows me to sleep knowing that the deaths of so many men are on my hands. I am forever sorry for the loss you have endured. It gives me no solace to know that your family is no longer complete. The country and I both thank you for your sacrifice.

Sorrowfully yours,

Abe Lincoln. President of the United States

Leave a Reply

