As Tragedies Go This One Is Pretty Hip

Part I: I Saw Her Standing There

I saw her one cold evening
Bundled up in warm clothes

Her face lit up my insides
And her smile could turn back time

Oh how grand it would be
If she was waiting there for me.

She spoke words of kindness
That made me forget this fake world

And her thoughts and ideas
Were better then my own

Oh how grand it would be
If she was waiting there for me.

I could see her breath
In the cold brisk air

She deserved so much good
Something I knew I wasn’t

Oh how grand it would be
If she was waiting there for me.

Even those things I found annoying
I knew I would soon miss

For this was my final scene
My sad goodbye if you will

Oh how grand it would be
If she was waiting there for me.

END OF PART 1

Part II: Words and Where They Come From

I looked into her eyes
And it was there I was lost

She asked me what’s the matter
As my voice trembled and broke

Oh how grand it would be
If she was waiting there for me.

And this is what I said…

When I look into your eyes
I see what I can be
And when you look into mine
You see what I’m not.

And this it just kills me
It’s like a sweet suicide
You’re like a dagger
Being plunged into me

And when I see you
I can see hope
But when you see me
It’s as if there is none.

I cannot do this
Not one more day
For my heart is brittle
And can’t take much more

She just looked at me
With her beautiful eyes

“what are you saying
What does this mean?”
“I want to grow old with you
And have your shoulder to cry on”

My voice it still quivered
Along with my lips

“I’m so sorry but I love you too much
To let you be around me

And I know that you care
I can hear it in your voice

But stand there and listen to your heart
Ask it this one question

Who is it you wait for
We both know who it’s not.”

And with those last words
I turned to walk away

Each small footstep
Were nothing but agony

Oh how grand it would be
If she was waiting there for me…

END OF PART II

Part III:  What Happened to Them Both

It was ten years later
I tried to move on

I lived in a small apartment
Just me and the pizza boxes

What a sad existence
I had carved out for myself

Oh how grand it would have been
If she had been waiting there for me

I heard all about her
From the few friends I had left

She had married
To some rich handsome man

And they had three children
And they all were talented

Oh how grand it would have been
If she had been waiting there for me…

And this is my story
What a sad tale I weave

But I have something
That I hold on to

All I ever wanted
Was for her to be happy

And in the darkness
I tell myself she is..

Oh how grand it would have been
If she had been waiting there for me…

END SCENE

2 Responses to “As Tragedies Go This One Is Pretty Hip”

  1. Javits Says:

    Oh how grand this poem would be,
    If only she had been wait there for thee!

  2. Javits Says:

    I certainly did enjoy yours!!

Leave a Reply

